A Little Reading

20130223-143755.jpg

Recently I began reading Eckhart Tolle’s book The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment. I have been curious about this book because I’ve heard many people on TV and online talking about it, plus it seems to fit in with my curiosity on how people think and the power of one’s own thoughts. So a couple of week ago I ordered myself a copy.

At first I though the book seemed a little small, but I’ve been reading 1,000 page novels lately so that’s probably why that came to mind. As I began my journey through it, I soon realized that this isn’t the type of book you can read straight through in a couple of sittings. In fact, Tolle has added in pause symbols after several paragraphs with heavy ideas to allow them to sink in.

The main idea of The Power of Now is to appreciate this present moment and not worry about what has happened in your past or what you need to do in the future. It’s a simple enough concept but very difficult to put into practice everyday. As of right now, I have only reached Chapter 3 but I am finding it very fascinating. There are a few things I disagree with or don’t yet understand, but it is making me think about my life with a new perspective.

The other day as I was enveloped by the book, I realized that living in the Now makes a lot of sense. For example, when we go on vacation to somewhere far away. We escape from our routine lives at home to a new, beautiful environment, and are not dwelling on what has been left behind. Also, the many things we have waiting for us in the future seem so far away that they don’t matter. The only thing of importance while we are on vacation is what we are surrounded by in that moment: the people, sights and sounds that surround us.

I would recommend The Power of Now to those of you who are interested in self improvement, appreciating life or if you’re only curious about the idea. This book is both inspiring and and challenging so I hope you enjoy it, and thank you for taking the time to stop by!

Leave a Reply

