My Year of Experimentation

Ducks

This year I have been determined to accomplish many things I’ve always wanted to do. I have always thought it would be cool to run at a charity run or that it would be good to not eat meat, but in the years before 2013 I never actually thought little old me could do them. To me, it was always the determined people with their whole lives figured out that did all these great things, not me, a lost, twenty something that’s going with the flow until I figure out what to do with my life. So this year I’m experimenting with as many things as I can!

Most recently I colored all my hair purple! I have never had all my hair in one funky color before and after thinking about it for a couple of months I just said to myself screw it, this is what I want to do. I was scared about it at first because I worried what others would think, but then I realized this is my life and I gotta do what I gotta do!

Another recent experience that I’m signed up for, that I have wanted to do since I was young, is getting my motorbike license! My Dad’s influence is the main reason I want to do this because he has had bikes & scooters since I was small and riding on them is just so freeing. Also, I’m determined to get this license because I’ve always been told I can’t because I’m a girl so I will do the exact opposite to prove people wrong! I knew one day I would have my own bike and signing up for classes brings me closer to that goal.

An item that has been on my bucket list is to do a charity run. I have seen the many images of the Color Me Rad 5k on Pinterest and Instagram and the colorful mess at those runs looked super awesome so when I saw that this run would be in my town I signed up right away. Check, check and check!

This year I have already accomplished some goals that I am very proud of. So far I have learned to eat and stick to being vegan which I had always thought was impossible but somehow, with strong determination, I did it. With this new healthy lifestyle I decided to exercise more by going to Hot Yoga classes. It is difficult to get out of the house sometimes but every single time I go to class I feel awesome because I accomplished my goal. These classes provide me with “me” time and I feel so refreshed and ready to take on the world afterwards.

Now since it is only April, I am curious what other experiences I will fall into and learn from…

Leave a Reply

