Goal Accomplished

Thursday was a very successful day for me. I conquered a major goal that I’ve been waiting many years to complete. I passed my Motorcycle Road Test and in a couple of weeks I will be legally able to ride a motorcycle! This goal was important to me for a couple of reasons: as a child I spent quality time with my father by hopping on his scooter and because many people have said I can’t do it.

Going with my Dad for bike rides brings back happy memories for me. He had less health problems back then and was capable of doing many tasks. A memory that has stuck with me over the years was when my Dad would pick me up at my elementary school at the end of the day and I would put on my super rad helmet, hop on his scooter, and take off. It was never a long ride home but I always felt free and content. On other trips we would go to a nearby swimming pool down the windy, bumpy road and I thought it was the best thing ever! I think I treasure these joyful moments so much because they were all before a great family tragedy that would change my Dad forever.

Now, I am a 5′ 2″ female and I believe you can guess how many times I have been told I shouldn’t, or just can’t, ride a motorcycle. They usually suggest I get a cute little scooter that I can do my errands with. This is one of those instances where I feel the need to say, “Screw that, I’m doing it!” Whenever someone feels the need to tell me I can’t do something I get a sudden urge to do the opposite. I hate it when people underestimate me so I must prove them wrong! This is another reason why I followed through completing a weekend motorcycle course then passing my Motorcycle Road Test. I wont’ lie, I was nervous at first and intimidated by the idea of riding a motorcycle, but once I learned the skills to safely operate it I had an absolute blast. I stumbled a bit along the way and at one point I questioned whether this was right for little ol’ me. But, I persevered and accomplished my goal.

Who would have thought one simple test could mean so much? I guess I’m chasing old memories that I can never get back and trying to take control of my life…

Leave a Reply

