In the Evening

This evening find me in the backyard
Absorbing the melody of smooth, smooth jazz,
A special compliment to my mood.
Twilight will approach and as this
Day ends, I will be restored.
The small chirp of crickets and crack of fire
Is no better soundtrack to this summer.
As the sun goes down my skin becomes
cool to touch, but inside I stay warm.
Evenings are in perfect balance;
Light with dark, warm but cool, we are
Energetic but relaxed in the best of ways.
As darkness approaches and we lose
One of our senses, the world
Becomes new again.
We explore this new space
With our ears, nose, tounge and skin.
There’s something enigmatic about this evening,
With so many possibilities.
So I will sit out here, beside the one I love,
In complete and utter happiness.

Leave a Reply

